WSC/WPC Media coverage

UKPA announcements will be made here.

WSC/WPC Media coverage

Postby PuzzleScot » Tue 12 Aug, 2014 1:03 am

Media coverage summary for the 9th World Sudoku Championship, and 23rd World Puzzle Championship ( http://www.uk2014.org/ )

Tue 15 July
Times of India

Sun 10 August
The Independent on Sunday
The Guardian 'What's on' supplement (ModernToss cartoon 17 Aug)

Mon 11 August
The Telegraph (am)
The Telegraph (noon)
The Telegraph (pm)
The Guardian
ITV London evening news
BBC Radio 4 - 6pm news (27m35 - 29m39) (also repeated in shorter form on later news, e.g. was on the midnight news)
Twitter (Jade Thirlwall of Little Mix)

Tue 12 August
The Times + print version
The Guardian (print version)
The Daily Telegraph + print version
The Independent
Le Monde (in French)
ABC Melbourne radio interview (no link known)

Wed 13 August
China Daily (in Mandarin)
The Hindu
Taipei Times

Thu 14 August
Times of India (also: alternate link with photo)
Al Jazeera English 6pm News (no online version known)

Sat 16 August
Český rozhlas [Czech Radio] (in Czech)

Sun 17 August
BBC Breakfast on BBC News 24 (no online version known)
Suddeutsche Zeitung (in German)
International Business Times
Sunday Telegraph (article title in the printed paper was "Living on the grid where logic rules")

Tue 19 August
The Croydon Citizen

Wed 20 August
Croydon Guardian

Fri 22 August
Wall Street Journal

December 2014
The Economist

Various coverage in China
sports.qq.com
sports.people.com.cn
sports.workercn.cn
letv.com
news.xinhuanet.com
bbs.tianya.cn
sports.sohu.com
blog.sina.com.cn(1)
blog.sina.com.cn(2)
blog.sina.com.cn(3)
sports.ifeng.com

Various coverage in Japan
The Mainichi Newspaper (in Japanese) (in English)
The Sankei Shimbun [via Kyodo News] (in Japanese)

Scheduled (placeholder URLs)
Croydon Advertiser

Note: This list is continually being updated. To add a media or blog reference, please email me (chairman@ukpuzzles.org) the link to, or a scan of, the relevant article. Thank-you. Some of the articles above have been syndicated, and appear in dozens more publications.
PuzzleScot
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri 18 Jun, 2010 10:45 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests